Six Nations

The Six Nations is an international rugby union competition held annually between the teams of England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. The competition started out as the Home Nations Championship in 1883 before France were added in 1910 to become the Five Nations Championship, this was later increased further in 1999 with the addition of Italy. Each team plays the other teams once, with home advantage being alternated each year.

As well as the Championship trophy, a team can win the ‘Grand Slam’ if it wins all its matches or a Home Nations nation can win the ‘Triple Crown’ if it wins all three of their matches against the others. Other individual trophies awarded for matches between teams include:

  • Calcultta Cup (England and Scotland)
  • Millennium Trophy (England and Ireland)
  • Centenary Quaich (Ireland and Scotland)
  • Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy (France and Italy)
  • Auld Alliance Trophy (France and Scotland)
  • Doddie Weir Cup (Wales and Scotland)
  • Cuttitta Cup (Scotland and Italy)

England and Wales have won the championship the most times with 39 titles but England have won the most outright titles with 29 (Wales 28). France have won 18 titles followed by Ireland and Scotland with 14, whilst Italy have never won the tournament.

2023 Six Nations

The 2023 Six Nations is set to take place between the 4th February and 18th March 2023. Click below for further information on each of the matches (all times are GMT).

Round 1

4th February 2023 (14:15) – Wales v Ireland (Millennium Stadium, Cardiff)

4th February 2023 (16:45) – England v Scotland (Twickenham Stadium, London)

5th February 2023 (15:00) – Italy v France (Stadio Olimpico, Rome)

Round 2

11th February 2023 (14:15) – Ireland v France (Aviva Stadium, Dublin)

11th February 2023 (16:45)Scotland v Wales (Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh)

12th February 2023 (15:00)England v Italy (Twickenham Stadium, London)

Round 3

25th February 2023 (14:15) – Italy v Ireland (Stadio Olimpico, Rome)

25th February 2023 (16:45)Wales v England (Millennium Stadium, Cardiff)

26th February 2023 (15:00)France v Scotland (Stade de France, Paris)

Round 4

11th March 2023 (14:15) – Italy v Wales (Stadio Olimpico, Rome)

11th March 2023 (16:45) – England v France (Twickenham Stadium, London)

12th March 2023 (15:00)Scotland v Ireland (Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh)

Round 5

18th March 2023 (12:30)Scotland v Italy (Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh)

18th March 2023 (14:45)France v Wales (Stade de France, Paris)

18th March 2023 (17:00)Ireland v England (Aviva Stadium, Dublin)

Tickets for the Six Nations

Tickets for Six Nations matches are available through the relevant hosting Rugby federation:

Further Information

Six Nations Official Website

Last Updated on February 4, 2023 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *