The Australian Football League (AFL) is the premier competition of Australian rules football in Australia. Originating in the state of Victoria and contested as the Victorian Football League between 1897 and 1990, the name was changed after clubs from other states were granted entry into the league.

There are 18 teams who compete in the AFL, with a series of home and away matches over a 23 round season. The top 8 teams then play in a 4 round final series, with the top 2 teams competing in the season ending AFL Grand Final, held each year at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

The most successful teams are Carlton and Essendon, who have each won 16 premierships. The 2018 premiers were the West Coast Eagles.

AFL Grand Final

The AFL Grand Final is the culmination of the season, competed by the top 2 teams. Traditionally held on the final Saturday in September or the first Sunday in October at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, the winner’s receive the AFL’s premiership cup and the premiership flag.

AFL Tickets

Ticket availability for AFL tickets vary between clubs and the opposition they are playing, with derby matches in particular demand.

Tickets for a variety of AFL matches are available to purchase through Ticketmaster here.


There are 18 clubs who compete in the AFL, with 10 of those based in Victoria. The 18 clubs are:

Adelaide Football Club (South Australia) – Adelaide Oval

Brisbane Lions (Queensland) – The Gabba

Carlton Football Club (Victoria) – Docklands Stadium

Collingwood Football Club (Victoria) – MCG

Essendon Football Club (Victoria) – Docklands Stadium

Fremantle Football Club (Western Australia) – Perth Stadium

Geelong Football Club (Victoria) – Kardinia Park

Gold Coast Football Club (Queensland) – Carrara Stadium

Greater Western Sydney Giants (New South Wales) – Sydney Showground

Hawthorn Football Club (Victoria) – MCG

Melbourne Football Club (Victoria) – MCG

North Melbourne Football Club (Victoria) – Docklands Stadium

Port Adelaide Football Club (South Australia) – Adelaide Oval

Richmond Football Club (Victoria) – MCG

St Kilda Football Club (Victoria) – Docklands Stadium

Sydney Swans (New South Wales) – SCG

West Coast Eagles (Western Australia) – Perth Stadium

Western Bulldogs (Victoria) – Docklands Stadium


Ticket information for purchasing AFL tickets can be found through the official website here.

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.