National Hockey League (NHL)


The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional league of Ice Hockey in the United States and Canada and is the considered the best ice hockey league in the world. The league is divided into two conferences, each split into two divisions – the Eastern Conference contains 16 teams and the Western Conference has 15 teams. Each team plays 82 games in the regular season from the start of October to mid-April, with eight team’s from each conference advancing to the playoffs and culminating in the Stanley Cup.

The inaugural season of the NHL was in 1917, with the Montreal Canadiens being by far the most successful team with 24 championships as of 2022.

Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup, awarded to the winners of the NHL

The Stanley Cup is the championship trophy awarded to the NHL playoff champion and was first awarded in 1893. The Stanley Cup playoffs run from April to early June, in a best-of-seven series elimination tournament between the top eight teams from each conference. The Stanley Cup Finals takes place between the two remaining conference champions to determine the winner of the Stanley Cup.

Teams of NHL

The National Hockey League has 32 teams (25 in the United States and 7 in Canada) split between two conferences (Eastern and Western) and four divisions (Atlantic, Metropolitan, Central and Pacific).

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Boston Bruins – TD Garden (Boston, Massachusetts)

Buffalo Sabres – KeyBank Center (Buffalo, New York)

Detroit Red Wings – Little Caesars Arena (Detroit, Michigan)

Florida Panthers – FLA Live Arena (Sunrise, Florida)

Montreal Canadiens – Bell Centre (Montreal, Quebec)

Ottawa Senators – Canadian Tire Centre (Ottawa, Ontario)

Tampa Bay Lightning – Amalie Arena (Tampa, Florida)

Toronto Maple Leafs – Scotiabank Arena (Toronto, Ontario)

Metropolitan Division

Carolina Hurricanes – PNC Arena (Raleigh, North Carolina)

Columbus Blue Jackets – Nationwide Arena (Columbus, Ohio)

New Jersey Devils – Prudential Center (Newark, New Jersey)

New York Islanders – UBS Arena (Elmont, New York)

New York Rangers – Madison Square Gardens (New York City, New York)

Philadelphia Flyers – Wells Fargo Center (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

Pittsburgh Penguins – PPG Paints Arena (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

Washington Capitals – Capital One Arena (Washington, D.C.)

Western Conference

Central Division

Arizona Coyotes – Mullett Arena (Tempe, Arizona)

Chicago Blackhawks – United Center (Chicago, Illinois)

Colorado Avalanche – Ball Arena (Denver, Colorado)

Dallas Stars – American Airlines Center (Dallas, Texas)

Minnesota Wild – Xcel Energy Center (Saint Paul, Minnesota)

Nashville Predators – Bridgestone Arena (Nashville, Tennessee)

St. Louis Blues – Enterprise Center (St. Louis, Missouri)

Winnipeg Jets – Canada Life Centre (Winnipeg, Manitoba)

Pacific Division

Anaheim Ducks – Honda Center (Anaheim, California)

Calgary Flames – Scotiabank Saddledome (Calgary, Alberta)

Edmonton Oilers – Rogers Place (Edmonton, Alberta)

Los Angeles Kings – Arena (Los Angeles, California)

San Jose Sharks – SAP Center (San Jose, California)

Seattle Kraken – Climate Pledge Arena (Seattle, Washington)

Vancouver Canucks – Rogers Arena (Vancouver, British Columbia)

Vegas Golden Knights – T-Mobile Arena (Paradise, Nevada)

How to buy tickets for NHL

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in the NHL is available on the individual ‘team’ tab on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

NHL Official Website

Last Updated on December 18, 2022 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply