Africa Cup of Nations

The Africa Cup of Nations is a men’s football competition for international sides from CAF, the football confederation of Africa. First held in 1957, the current holders are Algeria who defeated Senegal 1-0 in the 2019 Final.

Egypt have won the most Africa Cup of Nations with seven, followed by Ghana with four wins and Nigeria with three.

When is the Africa Cup of Nations?

The Africa Cup of Nations is held every 2 years in odd-numbered years so not to clash with the FIFA World Cup. Usually held in January, the tournament was moved to June for the first time starting in 2019.

The 2021 Africa Cup of Nations was moved back to January due to unfavourable climatic conditions in the host country in June and was due to be played from the 9th January to 6th February 2021. However the tournament was postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic and will be held exactly one year later, from the 9th January to 6th February 2022.

Where is the Africa Cup of Nations?

The host of the Africa Cup of Nations is selected through a bidding process, with a total of 19 different countries so far hosting the tournament.

The 2021 Africa Cup of Nations will be held in Cameroon for the first time since 1972, after being removed as the 2019 host due to delays in the delivery of infrastructure. Six venues in Cameroon are to be used to host the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations:

  • Douala – Japoma Stadium (Capacity – 50,000)
  • Yaounde – Paul Biya Stadium (Capacity – 60,000)
  • Yaounde – Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo (Capacity – 42,500)
  • Garoua – Roumdé Adjia Stadium (Capacity – 30,000)
  • Bafoussam – Kouekong Stadium (Capacity – 20,000)
  • Limbe – Limbe Stadium (Capacity – 20,000)

The Final will be held at the newly built Paul Biya Stadium in Yaounde on the 6th February 2022.

Ivory Coast will host the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, with Guinea due to host in 2025.

Who competes in the Africa Cup of Nations?

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations was the first held to have 24 teams competing, up from the usual 16. A total of 52 nations enter the qualification competition, including the hosts who are already a spot in the main tournament.

The qualification process takes place in the two years before the tournament, with the winners and runners-up of the 12 groups all qualifying.

How do I get to the Africa Cup of Nations?

International airports in Cameroon are located in in Douala and Yaoundé, with flights across Africa and to Brussels, Istanbul and Paris.

Thinking of flying to Cameroon? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

How do I get tickets to the Africa Cup of Nations?

Consult the official website here to check for updated ticket information.

Further Information

Africa Cup of Nations Official Website

Last Updated on April 7, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply