A-League (Australia)

The A-League is the highest professional league of Football/Soccer in Australia. The season is run from October to May, with the league divided into the regular season and culminating in the Finals Series playoffs.

Perth Glory are the 2018/2019 Premiers, whilst Sydney FC were the Champions.

A-League Format

Regular Season

The regular season runs between October and April, with each team playing a total of 27 matches – playing each of the other team’s 3 times.

At the end of the regular season, the team with the highest points is awarded as the A-League Premiers. There is however no relegation system in the MLS for the lowest place teams.

Finals Series

The top 6 teams from the league in the regular season advance to the Finals Series. All of the rounds are single matches, with the 1st and 2nd place teams from the regular season automatically given a bye Semi Finals.

The last 2 teams remaining contest the Grand Final, with the winners crowned the A-League Champion.

Clubs of the A-League

The MLS is currently made up of 10 teams, 9 from Australia and 1 from New Zealand. There are plans to expand the league to 12 teams, with Western United FC joining in 2019 and Macarthur South West United in 2020.

Click on the link next to the team (where available) for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Adelaide United – Coopers Stadium (Adelaide, South Australia)

Brisbane Roar – Suncorp Stadium (Brisbane, Queensland)

Central Coast Mariners – Central Coast Stadium (Gosford, New South Wales)

Melbourne City – AAMI Park (Melbourne, Victoria)

Melbourne Victory – AAMI Park/Marvel Stadium (Melbourne, Victoria)

Newcastle Jets – McDonald Jones Stadium (Newcastle, New South Wales)

Perth Glory – nib Stadium (Perth, Western Australia)

Sydney FC – Sydney Cricket Ground/Jubilee Oval/Leichhardt Oval (Sydney, New South Wales)

Wellington Phoenix – Westpac Stadium (Wellington, New Zealand)

Western Sydney Wanderers – Western Sydney Stadium (Sydney, New South Wales)

How to buy tickets for A-League

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in the A-League is available on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

Official A-League Website:  www.a-league.com.au/

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.