Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is an international competition for national men’s rugby union teams, first held in 1987. South Africa won the 2019 edition, having beaten England 32 – 12 in the Final at International Stadium Yokohama in Yokohama, Japan.

When is the Rugby World Cup?

The Rugby World Cup is held every 4 years. The 10th Rugby World Cup is scheduled for Friday 8th September – Saturday 28th October 2023.

Where is the Rugby World Cup?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup is being hosted in France for the second time, having also hosted the 2007 event. The following venues will be used:

  • Paris (Saint-Denis) – Stade de France (Capacity – 80,698)
  • Marseille – Stade Vélodrome (Capacity – 67,394)
  • Lyon – Parc Olympique Lyonnais (Capacity – 59,186)
  • Lille – Stade Pierre-Mauroy (Capacity – 50,157)
  • Bordeaux – Matmut Atlantique (Capacity – 42,115)
  • Saint-Étienne – Stade Geoffroy-Guichard (Capacity – 41,965)
  • Nice – Allianz Riviera (Capacity – 35,624)
  • Nantes – Stade de la Beaujoire (Capacity – 35,322)
  • Toulouse – Stadium Municipal (Capacity – 33,150)

Who is competing in the Rugby World Cup?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup is to be competed for by 20 nations. France qualified as hosts, with Argentina, Australia, England, France, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa and Wales automatically qualifying based on their performance in the 2019 edition.

The remaining 8 spaces will be decided through regional qualifiers, a cross-regional play-off and a Repechage tournament in November 2022.

Pool A – New Zealand, France, Italy, Americas 1, Africa 1

Pool B – South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Asia/Pacific 1, Europe 2

Pool C – Wales, Australia, Fiji, Europe 1, Final Qualifier Winner

Pool D – England, Japan, Argentina, Oceania I, Americas 2

How do I get there?

There are major airports in Paris, Nice, Lyon, Marseille and Toulouse among others.

Thinking of going to France? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

How do I get tickets?

Ticket information for the 2023 Rugby World Cup has yet to be released, however when they are available you will be able to apply on the official website here.

Where and when is the next World Cup?

The 11th Rugby World Cup is to be held in 2027 with Australia and Russia confirmed as interested bidders.

Further Information

Rugby World Cup Official Website

Previous Tournaments

2019JapanSouth Africa32-12England
2015EnglandNew Zealand34 - 17Australia
2011New ZealandNew Zealand8 - 7France
2007FranceSouth Africa15 - 6England
2003AustraliaEngland20 - 17 (aet)Australia
1999WalesAustralia35 - 12France
1995South AfricaSouth Africa15 - 12 (aet)New Zealand
1991EuropeAustralia12 - 6England
1987Australia &
New Zealand
New Zealand29 - 9 France

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.