European Rugby Champions Cup

Leinster celebrate winning the 2009 European Rugby Champions Cup

The European Rugby Champions Cup (known as the Heineken Champions Cup for sponsorship reasons) is an annual rugby union competition, contested by the top club sides that make up the Six Nations. Formerly known as the Heineken Cup, Leinster and Toulouse have both won the competition on four occasions.

Saracens are the current holders, having defeated Leinster in the 2019 final 20-10 at St James’ Park in Newcastle.

Format of the European Rugby Champions Cup

20 teams qualify for the European Rugby Champions Cup, with 19 of the teams qualifying via the following methods:

  • England – Top 6 teams in the Premiership Rugby competition
  • France – Top 6 teams in the Top 14 competition
  • Ireland, Italy, Scotland & Wales – Top 7 teams in the Pro14 competition

The 20th team is determined by the following:

  1. European Rugby Champions Cup winner if not already qualified
  2. European Rugby Challenge Cup winner if not already qualified
  3. European Rugby Champions Cup runner-up if not already qualified
  4. European Rugby Champions Cup semi-finalist if one has not already qualified (a play-off is held if both have not qualified)
  5. Highest ranked club from the same league as European Rugby Champions Cup who has not already qualified

Teams are divided into 5 groups of 4 teams, playing each other in home and away fixtures. The 5 pool winners and 3 best runners-up go through to the quarter finals knockout stages, followed by semi-finals and concluding in the Final.

2019-2020 European Rugby Champions Cup

The 20 teams that are competing in the 2019-2020 European Rugby Champions Cup are listed below. Click the links (where available) for a guide to visiting each stadium.

Pool 1

Benetton – Stadio Comunale di Monigo (Treviso, Italy)

Leinster – RDS Arena/Aviva Stadium (Dublin, Ireland)

Lyon OU – Matmut Stadium de Gerland

Northampton Saints – Franklin’s Gardens (Capacity – 15,249)

Pool 2

Exeter Chiefs – Sandy Park (Capacity – 12,800)

Glasgow Warriors – Scotstoun Stadium (Glasgow, Scotland)

Stade Rochelais – Stade Marcel-Deflandre

Sale Sharks – AJ Bell Stadium (Capacity – 12,000)

Pool 3

Bath Rugby – The Recreation Ground (Capacity – 14,500)

ASM Clermont Auvergne – Parc des Sports Marcel Michelin

Harlequins F.C. – Twickenham Stoop (Capacity – 14,800)

Ulster – Ravenhill Stadium (Belfast, Northern Ireland)

Pool 4

Munster – Thomond Park/Irish Independent Park (Limerick/Cork, Ireland)

Ospreys – Liberty Stadium (Swansea, Wales)

Racing 92 – Paris La Défense Arena

Saracens F.C. – Allianz Park (Capacity – 10,000)

Pool 5

Connacht – Galway Sportsgrounds (Galway, Ireland)

Gloucester Rugby – Kingsholm Stadium (Capacity – 16,155)

Montpellier Hérault Rugby – Altrad Stadium

Stade Toulousain – Stade Ernest-Wallon

2019-2020 Match Days

18/19/20 September 2020: Quarter-finals (Venues TBC)

25/26/27 September 2020: Semi-finals (Venues TBC)

16/17/18 October 2020: Final (Venue TBC)

Future European Rugby Champions Cup Final’s

2019-2020 European Rugby Champions Cup Final (17th October 2020) – Venue TBC

2020-2021 European Rugby Champions Cup Final (22nd May 2021) – Stade Vélodrome (Marseille, France)

2021-2022 European Rugby Champions Cup Final (May 2022) – Tottenham Hotspur Stadium (London, England)

How do I get tickets to the European Rugby Champions Cup?

Ticketing information for clubs competing in the European Rugby Champions Cup is available by clicking on the venue links above (where available).

Further Information

European Rugby Champions Cup Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.