Olympic Games (Winter)

The Winter Olympic Games is a large scale multi-sport competition held every four years for those sports contested on snow and ice. The first Winter Olympic Games were held in 1924 in Chamonix, France with a total of 16 nations competing. The last Winter Olympics were in 2018 in Pyeongchang, South Korea with 92 nations taking part.

Which sports are in the Winter Olympic Games?

Sports currently part of the Winter Olympic Games programme include:

  • Alpine Skiing
  • Biathlon
  • Bobsleigh
  • Cross-country Skiing
  • Curling
  • Figure Skating
  • Freestyle Skating
  • Ice Hockey
  • Luge
  • Nordic Combined
  • Short track speed skating
  • Skeleton
  • Ski jumping
  • Snowboarding
  • Speed Skating

When and where is next Winter Olympic Games?

The next Winter Olympics Games is to be held in Beijing, China in 2022.

For further details on the Games, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *