Major League Baseball (MLB)


Major League Baseball (MLB) is the highest professional league of Baseball in the United States and Canada and is the oldest major professional sports league in the world. Divided by two leagues of 15 teams each, the National League (founded in 1876) and the American League (founded in 1901), each team plays 162 games in the regular season from the start of April to the end of April. Six team’s from each league advancing to the playoffs and culminating in the World Series.

The first World Series was played in 1903, with the New York Yankees being by far the most successful team with 27 championships as of 2022.

World Series

The World Series is the annual championship series contested by the champion teams of the American League and the National League. The winner is determined by a best-of-seven playoff with the winner awarded the Commissioner’s Trophy.

Teams of MLB

Major League Baseball has 30 teams (29 in the United States and 1 in Canada) split between two leagues of 15 – the American League and National League.

American League

East Division

Baltimore Orioles – Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore, Maryland)

Boston Red Sox – Fenway Park (Boston, Massachusetts)

New York Yankees – Yankee Stadium (New York City, New York)

Tampa Bay Rays – Tropicana Field (St. Petersburg, Florida)

Toronto Blue Jays – Rogers Centre (Toronto, Ontario)

Central Division

Chicago White Sox – Guaranteed Rate Field (Chicago, Illinois)

Cleveland Guardians – Progressive Field (Cleveland, Ohio)

Detroit Tigers – Comerica Park (Detroit, Michigan)

Kansas City Royals – Kauffman Stadium (Kansas City, Missouri)

Minnesota Twins – Target Field (Minneapolis, Minnesota)

West Division

Houston Astros – Minute Maid Park (Houston, Texas)

Los Angeles Angels – Angel Stadium (Anaheim, California)

Oakland Athletics – RingCentral Coliseum (Oakland, California)

Seattle Mariners – T-Mobile Park (Seattle, Washington)

Texas Rangers – Globe Life Field (Arlington, Texas)

National League

East Division

Atlanta Braves – Truist Park (Cumberland, Georgia)

Miami Marlins – LoanDepot Park (Miami, Florida)

New York Mets – Citi Field (New York City, New York)

Philadelphia Phillies – Citizens Bank Park (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

Washington Nationals – Nationals Park (Washington, D.C.)

Central Division

Chicago Cubs – Wrigley Field (Chicago, Illinois)

Cincinnati Reds – Great American Ball Park (Cincinnati, Ohio)

Milwaukee Brewers – American Family Field (Milwaukee, Wisconsin)

Pittsburgh Pirates – PNC Park (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

St. Louis Cardinals – Busch Stadium (St. Louis, Missouri)

West Division

Arizona Diamondbacks – Chase Field (Phoenix, Arizona)

Colorado Rockies – Coors Field (Denver, Colorado)

Los Angeles Dodgers – Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles, California)

San Diego Padres – Petco Park (San Diego, California)

San Francisco Giants – Oracle Park (San Francisco, California)

How to buy tickets for MLB

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in the MLB is available on the individual ‘team’ tab on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

MLB Official Website

Last Updated on December 17, 2022 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply