Vuelta a España

Vuelta a España

The last of professional cycling’s three Grand Tours (after the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France), the Vuelta a España (Tour of Spain) is a 3 week long multiple-stage race held every year, primarily in Spain.

The 2020 red jersey (maillot rojo), given to the General Clarification winner of the Vuelta a España, was won by the Slovenian, Primož Roglič of Team Jumbo–Visma who won the event for the second year in a row.

When is the Vuelta a España?

The Vuelta a España is held annually, usually held over 3 weeks in the months of August and September.

Where is the Vuelta a España?

The Vuelta a España is predominantly held in Spain but does visit neighboring countries.

Only three editions of the Vuelta have started outside of Spain:

  • 1997: Lisbon, Portugal
  • 2009: Assen, Netherlands
  • 2017: Nîmes, France

The final stage of the Vuelta traditionally finishes in Madrid.

How do I get there?

There are major airports in Madrid, Barcelona, Málaga, Alicante and Valencia among others.

Thinking of going to Spain? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

skyscanner generic 728x90

Where to stay in Spain

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Spain by clicking here.

Further Information

Vuelta a España Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.