ICC Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup is the international competition for One Day International (ODI) cricket organised by the governing body of world cricket, the International Cricket Council (ICC). First held in 1975, the current champions are England who defeated New Zealand at the 2019 Cricket World Cup, winning on the boundary count back rule after a dramatic Super Over .

When is the Cricket World Cup?

The Cricket World Cup takes place every 4 years. The 13th edition was due to take place from the 9th February to 26th March 2023 but was moved to later in the year due to the Covid-19 pandemic and will now be held across October/November 2023 with the Final on the 26th November 2023.

Where is the Cricket World Cup?

The 2023 Cricket World Cup is set to be held in India, with this being the first time the cricket loving nation has solely hosted the competition (1987 – India and Pakistan, 1996 – India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka, 2011 – India, Sri Lanka & Bangladesh).

The venues of the 2023 Cricket World Cup have yet to be confirmed. Once they are confirmed, venue information will be available here.

The hosts of the 2027 and 2031 editions were announced in November 2021:

October/November 2027 – South Africa, Zimbabwe & Namibia

October/November 2031 – India & Bangladesh

Who is competing in the Cricket World Cup?

There are 10 teams that compete in the Cricket World Cup. For the 2023 Cricket World Cup, India have already qualified automatically as hosts. A further 7 teams will be determined by the 2020-22 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, with the remaining 2 teams coming from the 2022 Cricket World Cup Qualifier.

What is the format of the Cricket World Cup?

The 10 teams play in a single group, with each team playing each other once. The top four teams then proceed to the Semi-Finals, from which the remaining 2 teams contest the Final.

Travel to the 2023 Cricket World Cup

There are major airports across India in New Delhi, Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bangalore, Calicut, Chennai, Cochin, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Thiruvananthapuram. Between them, they serve the majority of the world’s destinations.

Thinking of flying? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

Hotels the 2023 Cricket World Cup

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in India by clicking here.


How do I get tickets to the Cricket World Cup?

Ticket information for the 2023 Cricket World Cup has yet to be released. Once released the information will be available on the official website (below).

Further Information

Cricket World Cup Official Website

Previous Tournaments

2019England & WalesEnglandWon on the boundary count back rule
(after Super Over)
New Zealand
2015Australia &
New Zealand
AustraliaWon by 7 wicketsNew Zealand
2011India, Sri Lanka &
IndiaWon by 6 wicketsSri Lanka
2007West IndiesAustraliaWon by 53 runsSri Lanka
2003South AfricaAustraliaWon by 125 runsIndia
1999England & WalesAustraliaWon by 8 wicketsPakistan
1996Pakistan, India &
Sri Lanka
Sri LankaWon by 7 wicketsAustralia
1992Australia &
New Zealand
PakistanWon by 22 runsEngland
1987India & PakistanAustraliaWon by 7 runsEngland
1983EnglandIndiaWon by 43 runsWest Indies
1979EnglandWest IndiesWon by 92 runsEngland
1975EnglandWest IndiesWon by 17 runsAustralia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.