Indian Premier League (IPL)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an annual Twenty20 cricket competition based in India and contested every year between April and May. First held in 2008, the competition has become the most attended cricket league in the world and one of the most valuable, with the annual player auction seeing players traded for millions of dollars.

The current champions are the Chennai Super Kings who have won the competition on three occasions, being the equal most successful team alongside the Mumbai Indians.

Format of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

There are 8 teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL), who play each other twice in a home and away round robin format. The top four teams in the league qualify for the playoffs. The first qualifying match see’s the top 2 teams play, with the winner going directly to the IPL final. The loser will play in the second qualifying match against the winner of the third/fourth place eliminator match. The winner of this second qualifying match will then play the winner of the first qualifying round to determine the Indian Premier League champion.

Teams & Venues of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

The 8 teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL), with their home venues are:

Chennai Super Kings – M. A. Chidambaram Stadium & MCA Stadium, Pune

Delhi Capitals – Feroz Shah Kotla Ground

Kings XI Punjab – PCA Stadium, Mohali & Holkar Stadium, Indore

Kolkata Knight Riders – Eden Gardens

Mumbai Indians – Wankhede Stadium

Rajasthan Royals – Sawai Mansingh Stadium

Royal Challengers Bangalore – M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Sunrisers Hyderabad – Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.