WTA Finals

The WTA Finals are one of the most prestigious events on the WTA Tour and is played by the top-ranked professional players in Women’s tennis. WTA players compete through the year, earning ranking points with the top 8 singles players and 8 double teams qualifying. In both the Singles and Doubles event, the players participate in a round-round in 2 groups of 4, with the top 2 from each group progressing to a Semi-Final.

The WTA Finals were first held in 1972 in Palm Beach and won by Chris Evert. The most successful player is Martina Navratilova, having won 8 singles and 13 doubles titles. The 2019 WTA Finals Singles champion was Australia’s Ashleigh Barty, with Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic winning the Doubles.

When are the WTA Finals?

The WTA Finals (currently known as the Shiseido WTA Finals Shenzhen for sponsorship reasons) is played annually as the season ending event for the top Women’s players. The event is usually held in mid-late October/early November.

The 2020 WTA Finals were due to take place between Sunday 1st November and Sunday 8th November 2020 but were cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The next edition will therefore be in 2021.

Where are the WTA Finals?

The WTA Finals has been played at numerous venues since its inception in 1972 but since 2019 will be held at the Shenzhen Bay Sports Center in Shenzhen, China until 2028.

Address: Nanshan, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

There have been 10 other venues to have hosted the WTA Finals, including the following:

  • 1972-1973: Boca Raton, Palm Beach, USA
  • 1974-1976: Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena, Los Angeles, USA
  • 1977: Madison Square Gardens, New York City, USA
  • 1978: Oakland Arena, Oakland, USA
  • 1979-2000: Madison Square Gardens, New York City, USA
  • 2001: Olympiahalle, Munich, Germany
  • 2002-2005: Staples Center, Los Angeles, USA
  • 2006-2007: Madrid Arena, Madrid, Spain
  • 2008-2010: Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex. Doha, Qatar
  • 2011-2013: Sinan Erdem Dome, Istanbul, Turkey
  • 2014-2018: Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore

How do I get to the WTA Finals?

The Shenzhen Bay Sports Center is located in the West of Shenzhen, in the Nanshan district of the city and part of the coastal leisure zone in Shenzhen Bay.

Airport: Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport is located 35 kilometres (22 miles) from Shenzhen City Centre and is the 5th busiest Airport in China. The airport has flights across Asia, North America, Europe, New Zealand and Australia, as well as domestically across China.

From the airport it is possible to reach the city via Line 11 of the Metro at Airport Station, or bus M416 also provides a shuttle service to Hourui Station on Line 1.

Alternatively, Hong Kong International Airport is a short ferry journey way away from Shenzhen.

Thinking of going to Shenzhen? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

Metro: The Shenzhen Metro offers rapid transport across the city with Keyuan Station (Line 2) and Houhai Station (Line 11) each about a kilometre from the Sports Center.

How do I get tickets to the WTA Finals?

Day tickets for the 2019 WTA Finals range from ¥180-¥1680, with tournament passes available from ¥1780 – ¥5480. For further ticket information and to purchase tickets, check the official WTA Finals website here.

Where to Stay in Shenzhen

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Shenzhen by clicking here.

Further Information

WTA Finals Official Website

WTA Event Official Page

Shenzhen Bay Sports Center Club Official Website

Last Updated on February 24, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply