Super Rugby

Super Rugby is a rugby union competition, consisting of 15 teams from Argentina, Australia, Japan, New Zealand and South Africa. In the group stage, the 15 teams are divided into 3 geographical conferences (Australian, New Zealand and South African conferences) with teams playing a home and away fixture against each team within their conference, along with a further 8 fixtures against teams from the other conference’s. The top team in each of the 3 conferences qualify for the knockout phase, along with the next best 5 teams across all of the conferences.

The 2019 champions of Super Rugby were Crusaders, who won their 10th title and are the most successful franchise in the tournament’s history. The competition has been dominated by teams from New Zealand, winning 17 times in 24 years.

Franchises of Super Rugby

There are currently 15 franchises competing in Super Rugby (reduced from 18 in 2018). Click on the link (where available) next to the team for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Australia Conference

Brumbies – Canberra Stadium (Canberra, Australian Capital Territory)

Rebels – AAMI Park (Melbourne, Victoria)

Reds – Suncorp Stadium (Brisbane, Queensland)

Sunwolves – Various across Japan

Waratahs – Sydney Cricket Ground (Sydney, New South Wales)

New Zealand Conference

Blues – Eden Park (Auckland, Auckland Region)

Chiefs – FMG Stadium Waikato (Hamilton, Waikato)

Crusaders – Rugby League Park (Christchurch, Canterbury)

Highlanders – Forsyth Bar Stadium (Dunedin, Otago)

Hurricanes – Sky Stadium (Wellington, Wellington Region)

South Africa Conference

Bulls – Loftus Versfeld Stadium (Pretoria, Gauteng)

Jaguares – Estadio José Amalfitani (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Lions – Emirates Airline Park (Johannesburg, Gauteng)

Sharks – Kings Park Stadium (Durban, KwaZulu-Natal)

Stormers – Newlands Stadium (Cape Town, Western Cape)

How to buy tickets for Super Rugby

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in Super Rugby is available on the individual ‘teams’ tab on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

Super Rugby Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.