La Liga (Spain)

La Liga is the top league of Spanish football, consisting of 20 teams. The team to earn the highest points over the 38 match season is the champion, with the lowest 3 clubs relegated to the Segunda División. Real Madrid are the league’s most successful club, having won 34 titles followed by Barcelona with 26 wins.

The 2020 – 2021 champions were Atlético Madrid, winning their 11th title after clinching the league on the final day of the season after finishing 2 points ahead of Real Madrid. The three relegated teams were Huesca, Valladolid and Eibar.

2021 – 2022 La Liga Season

The 2021-22 La Liga season is due to start on the 13th August 2021, with the final day of the season being the 22nd May 2022. The three new promoted teams are Espanyol, Mallorca and Rayo Vallecano after defeating Girona in the promotion play-off.

The below 20 teams are competing in La Liga in the 2021-2022 season. Click on the link next to the team (where available) for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Alavés – Mendizorrotza (Capacity – 19,840)

Athletic Bilbao – San Mamés (Capacity – 53,000)

Atlético Madrid – Wanda Metropolitano (Capacity – 68,000)

Barcelona – Camp Nou (Capacity – 99,354)

Cádiz – Ramón de Carranza (Capacity – 20,724)

Celta Vigo – Abanca-Balaídos (Capacity – 29,000)

Elche – Martínez Valero (Capacity – 33,732)

Espanyol – RCDE Stadium (Capacity – 40,000)

Getafe – Coliseum Alfonso Pérez (Capacity – 17,000)

Granada – Nuevo Los Cármenes (Capacity – 19,336)

Levante – Ciutat de València (Capacity – 26,354)

Mallorca – Visit Mallorca Stadium (Capacity – 23,142)

Osasuna – El Sadar (Capacity – 18,570)

Rayo Vallecano – Vallecas (Capacity – 14,708)

Real Betis – Benito Villamarín (Capacity – 60,721)

Real Madrid – Santiago Bernabéu (Capacity – 81,044)

Real Sociedad – Anoeta (Capacity – 39,500)

Sevilla – Estadio Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán (Capacity – 42,714)

Valencia – Mestalla (Capacity – 49,500)

Villareal – Estadio de la Cerámica (Capacity – 23,500)

How to buy tickets for La Liga

Ticketing information for clubs competing in La Liga is available by clicking on the venue links above (where available).

Further Information

La Liga Official Website

Last Updated on June 21, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *