EFL Championship

The English Football League Championship (EFL Championship) is the second highest division of English football, consisting of 24 teams. The team to earn the highest points over the 46 match season is the Champion and earns promotion to the Premier League, along with the second place team and the Play-Off winner (play-off competed for by 3rd-6th place teams), with the lowest 3 clubs relegated to the English Football League One division.

2023 – 2024 EFL Championship Season

The 2023-24 EFL Championship season is due to begin on the 5th August 2023, with the EFL Championship Play-off Final due to take place on Sunday 26th May 2024 at Wembley Stadium.

The three relegated teams from the Premier League are Leeds United, Leicester City and Southampton. The three promoted teams from EFL League One are Plymouth Argyle, Ipswich Town and Sheffield Wednesday.

The 2022–2023 champions were Burnley, who won promotion back to the Premier League at the first time of asking after being relegated in 2022. Sheffield United finished as runners-up, whilst Luton Town finished third and subsequently won the play-offs to earn promotion to the Premier League for the first time after defeating Coventry City in the Final. The three relegated teams were Reading, Blackpool and Wigan Athletic.

The below 24 teams are competing in the EFL Championship in the 2023-2024 season. Click on the link next to the team (where available) for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Birmingham City – St Andrew’s (Capacity – 29,409)

Blackburn Rovers – Ewood Park (Capacity – 31,367)

Bristol City – Ashton Gate (Capacity – 27,000)

Cardiff City – Cardiff City Stadium (Capacity – 33,280)

Coventry City – Ricoh Arena (Capacity – 32,609)

Huddersfield Town – Kirklees Stadium (Capacity – 24,121)

Hull City – KCOM Stadium (Capacity – 25,586)

Ipswich Town – Portman Road (Capacity – 29,673)

Leeds United – Elland Road (Capacity – 37,608)

Leicester City – King Power Stadium (Capacity – 32,262)

Middlesbrough – Riverside Stadium (Capacity – 34,742)

Millwall – The Den (Capacity – 20,146)

Norwich City – Carrow Road (Capacity – 27,359)

Plymouth Argyle – Home Park (Capacity – 17,900)

Preston North End – Deepdale (Capacity – 23,404)

Queens Park Rangers – Loftus Road (Capacity – 18,439)

Rotherham United – New York Stadium (Capacity – 12,021)

Sheffield Wednesday – Hillsborough (Capacity – 38,854)

Southampton – St Mary’s Stadium (Capacity – 32,384)

Stoke City – bet365 Stadium (Capacity – 30,089)

Sunderland – Stadium of Light (Capacity – 48,707)

Swansea City – Liberty Stadium (Capacity – 21,088)

Watford – Vicarage Road (Capacity – 22,200)

West Bromwich Albion – The Hawthorns (Capacity – 26,850)

How to buy tickets for the EFL Championship

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in the EFL Championship is available on the venue guides above or on the individual ‘clubs’ tab on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

EFL Championship Official Website

Last Updated on May 29, 2023 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply