The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the professional basketball league of North America. The 30 teams play 82 games in the regular season from October to April, 41 home and 41 away. Each team plays each of the other teams in its own division four times (16 games), six of the teams from the other two divisions in its conference four times (24 games), the remaining four teams from its own conference three times (12 games) and all the teams from the other conference twice (30 games). The top eight teams from each conference proceed to the Playoffs.

The league was founded in 1946, with the Philadelphia Warriors (now the Golden State Warriors) the inaugural winners. The Boston Celtics and the Los Angeles Lakers are the join most successful teams with 17 championships as of 2022.

NBA Playoffs & Finals

The eight remaining teams from each conference compete in a knockout competition, consisting of a series of best of seven rounds. The remaining team from each Conference is the champion, these 2 teams then compete in the best of seven NBA Finals to determine the overall NBA champion.

Teams of the NBA

The NBA curently has 30 teams (29 in the United States and 1 in Canada), with the league divided into two conferences (Eastern and Western) of three divisions with five teams each.

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Boston Celtics – TD Garden (Boston, Massachusetts)

Brooklyn Nets – Barclays Center (New York City, New York)

New York Knicks – Madison Square Garden (New York City, New York)

Philadelphia 76ers – Wells Fargo Center (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

Toronto Raptors – Scotiabank Arena (Toronto, Ontario)

Central Division

Chicago Bulls – United Center (Chicago, Illinois)

Cleveland Cavaliers – Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse (Cleveland, Ohio)

Detroit Pistons – Little Caesars Arena (Detroit, Michigan)

Indiana Pacers – Gainbridge Fieldhouse (Indianapolis, Indiana)

Milwaukee Bucks – Fiserv Forum (Milwaukee, Wisconsin)

Southeast Division

Atlanta Hawks – State Farm Arena (Atlanta, Georgia)

Charlotte Hornets – Spectrum Center (Charlotte, North Carolina)

Miami Heat – FTX Arena (Miami, Florida)

Orlando Magic – Amway Center (Orlando, Florida)

Washington Wizards – Capital One Arena (Washington, D.C.)

Western Conference

Northwest Division

Denver Nuggets – Ball Arena (Denver, Colorado)

Minnesota Timberwolves – Target Center (Minneapolis, Minnesota)

Oklahoma City Thunder – Paycom Center (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)

Portland Trail Blazers – Moda Center (Portland, Oregon)

Utah Jazz – Vivint Arena (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Pacific Division

Golden State Warriors – Chase Centre (San Francisco, California)

Los Angeles Clippers – Arena (Los Angeles, California)

Los Angeles Lakers – Arena (Los Angeles, California)

Phoenix Suns – Footprint Center (Phoenix, Arizona)

Sacramento Kings – Golden 1 Center (Sacramento, California)

Southwest Division

Dallas Mavericks – American Airlines Center (Dallas, Texas)

Houston Rockets – Toyota Center (Houston, Texas)

Memphis Grizzlies – FedExForum (Memphis, Tennessee)

New Orleans Pelicans – Smoothie King Center (New Orleans, Louisiana)

San Antonio Spurs – AT&T Center (San Antonio, Texas)

How to buy tickets for the NBA

Ticketing information for all teams competing in the NBA is available on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

NBA Official Website

Last Updated on January 3, 2023 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply