National Rugby League (NRL)

The National Rugby League (NRL) is the top league of Australian domestic professional rugby league, consisting of 16 teams. The season runs from March to October, with a a 24 match regular season before the top 8 teams compete in a knockout tournament Finals series to decide the Champion culminating in the Grand Final at the ANZ Stadium in Sydney. The winner will play the champions of the Super League in the World Club Challenge.

The 2020 champions of the National Rugby League were Melbourne Storm, who won their 4th title after defeating the Penrith Panthers 26-20. The most successful side in National Rugby League history are the South Sydney Rabbitohs who have the won the title 21 times.

State of Origin

One of the highlights of the NRL season is the State of Origin, a best of three match series between representative sides from the states of New South Wales (Blues) and Queensland (Maroons). The Queensland home fixture is played at Suncorp Stadium, the New South Wales home fixture is usually played at Stadium Australia and the third fixture is interstate.

The 2021 State of Origin schedule is:

9th June 2021 (20:10) – Queensland v New South Wales (Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne)

27th June 2021 (19:50) – Queensland v New South Wales (Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane)

14th July 2021 (20:10) – New South Wales v Queensland (Stadium Australia, Sydney)

Clubs of the NRL

The below 16 teams compete in the National Rugby League, 8 based within Greater Sydney, two in regional New South Wales, 3 in Queensland and 1 each in the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria and New Zealand. Click on the link (where available) next to the team for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Brisbane Broncos – Suncorp Stadium (Capacity – 52,500)

Canberra Raiders – GIO Stadium (Capacity – 25,000)

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs – Stadium Australia (Capacity – 83,500)

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks – Nestrata Jubilee Stadium (Capacity – 20,500)

Gold Coast Titans – Cbus Super Stadium (Capacity – 27,400)

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles – Lottoland (Capacity – 23,000)

Melbourne Storm – AAMI Park (Capacity – 30,050)

New Zealand Warriors – Mount Smart Stadium (Capacity – 30,000)

Newcastle Knights – McDonald Jones Stadium (Capacity – 33,000)

North Queensland Cowboys – Queensland Country Bank Stadium (Capacity – 25,000)

Parramatta Eels – Bankwest Stadium (Capacity – 30,000)

Penrith Panthers – Panthers Stadium (Capacity – 22,500)

South Sydney Rabbitohs – Stadium Australia (Capacity – 83,500)

St George Illawarra Dragons – Netstrata Jubille Stadium (Capacity – 20,500)/WIN Stadium (Capacity – 23,000)

Sydney Roosters – Sydney Cricket Ground (Capacity – 48,000)

Wests Tigers – Leichhardt Oval (Capacity – 20,000)/Campbelltown Stadium (Capacity – 20,000)

How to buy tickets for the National Rugby League

Further information and to purchase tickets for all matches in the National Rugby League, is available on the official website here.

Further Information

National Rugby League Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *