Primeira Liga (Portugal)

The Primeira Liga is the top league of Portuguese football, consisting of 18 teams (currently known as Liga NOS for sponsorship reasons). The team to earn the highest points over the 34 match season is the champion, with the lowest 2 clubs relegated to the Segunda Liga.

The Primeira Liga was first played in 1934 and with the exception of Belenenses in 1945-46 and Boavista in 2000-01, has only ever been won by “os três grandes” – “the big three” of S.L. Benfica, FC Porto and Sporting CP.

The 2020 – 2021 champions were Sporting CP, winning their 19th title and first since 2002 after finishing five points ahead of Porto. Farense and Nacional were relegated to the Segunda Liga, with Rio Ave also joining them after losing 5-0 on aggregate to Arouca in the relegation play-off.

2021 – 2022 Primeira Liga

The 2021-22 Primeira Liga season is due to be held between August 2021 and May 2022. The three newly promoted teams are Estoril, Vizela and Arouca.

The below 18 teams are competing in the Primeira Liga in the 2021-2022 season. Click on the link next to the team (where available) for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Arouca – Estádio Municipal de Arouca (Capacity – 5,000)

Belenenses SAD – Estádio Nacional (Capacity – 32,000)

S.L. Benfica – Estádio da Luz (Capacity – 64,160)

Boavista F.C. – Estádio do Bessa (Capacity – 27,370)

S.C. Braga – Estádio Municipal de Braga (Capacity – 30,280)

Estoril – Estádio António Coimbra da Mota (Capacity – 8,015)

F.C. Famalicão – Estádio Municipal 22 de Junho (Capacity – 5,300)

Gil Vicente F.C. – Estádio Cidade de Barcelos (Capacity – 12,035)

C.S. Marítimo – Estádio do Marítimo (Capacity – 10,600)

Moreirense F.C. – Parque de Jogos Comendador Joaquim de Almeida Freitas (Capacity – 6,150)

F.C. Paços de Ferreira – Estádio da Mata Real (Capacity – 9,280)

Portimonense S.C. – Estádio Municipal de Portimão (Capacity – 5,870)

FC Porto – Estádio do Dragão (Capacity – 50,030)

C.D. Santa Clara – Estádio de São Miguel (Capacity – 10,000)

Sporting CP – Estádio José Alvalade (Capacity – 50,485)

C.D. Tondela – Estádio João Cardoso (Capacity – 5,000)

Vitória S.C. – Estádio D. Afonso Henriques (Capacity – 30,000)

Vizela – Estádio do FC Vizela (Capacity – 6,000)

How to buy tickets for the Primeira Liga

Ticketing information for clubs competing in Primeira Liga is available by clicking on the venue links above (where available).

Further Information

Primeira Liga Official Website

Last Updated on June 19, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply