Tour de France

The most famous of professional cycling’s three Grand Tours, the Tour de France (Tour of France) is a 3 week long multiple-stage race held every year, primarily in France.

When is it?

The Tour de France is held annually, usually in the month of July. The 2020 Tour will be starting slightly earlier than usual, taking place between the 27th June and 19th July 2020.

Where is it?

The Tour de France is predominantly held in France, although stages have passed through or started in a number of different countries including Andorra, Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

It has become common for the start of the Tour (known as the Grand Départ) to start outside of the country, including the following:

  • 1954: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 1958: Brussels, Belgium
  • 1965: Cologne, West Germany
  • 1973: The Hague, Netherlands
  • 1975: Charleroi, Belgium
  • 1978: Leiden, Netherlands
  • 1980: Frankfurt, West Germany
  • 1982: Basel, Switzerland
  • 1987: West Berlin, West Germany
  • 1989: Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • 1992: San Sebastián, Spain
  • 1996: Den Bosch, Netherlands
  • 1998: Dublin, Ireland
  • 2002: Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • 2004: Liège, Belgium
  • 2007: London, United Kingdom
  • 2009: Monte Carlo, Monaco
  • 2010: Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • 2012: Liège, Belgium
  • 2014: Leeds, United Kingdom
  • 2015: Utrecht, Netherlands
  • 2017: Düsseldorf, Germany
  • 2019: Brussels, Belgium
  • 2021: Copenhagen, Denmark

The final stage is traditionally held on the Champs-Élysées in Paris.

2020 Tour de France

2021 Tour de France

How do I get there?

There are major airports in Paris, Nice, Lyon, Marseille and Toulouse among others.

Thinking of going to France? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

Where to stay in France

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in France by clicking here.

Current Champion

2019 – Egan Bernal (COL) – Team Ineos

Further Information

Tour de France Official Website:

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.