FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is an international competition for senior men’s football, contested by the teams of member confederation’s continental club competitions. First held in 2000, Liverpool of England are the current holders having won the 2019 competition in Qatar, following a 1-0 win over Flamengo of Brazil.

The tournament is due to undergo a complete overhaul in 2022 or 2023, with the tournament expanded to 24 teams.

When is the FIFA Club World Cup?

The FIFA Club World Cup takes place yearly, with the 2020 edition to be the 17th competition. The 2020 tournament will be held between the 1st and 11th February due to the knock on effect of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Where is the FIFA Club World Cup?

The 2020 FIFA Club World Cup is being hosted by Qatar for the second time in a row as the country prepares to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

The matches will be played across three venues in the city of Al Rayyan, just outside of Doha:

Qatar will also be hosting the 2020 FIFA Club World Cup. From 2021 the FIFA Club World Cup will be under a new format, expanding to 24 teams with the competition moving to June/July.

The host of the revised tournament will be confirmed in October 2019.

Who is competing in the FIFA Club World Cup?

The host nation’s national champions compete along with that year’s winners from the AFC Champions League (Asia), CAF Champions League (Africa), CONCACAF Champions League (North America), Copa Libertadores (South America), OFC Champions League (Oceeania) and UEFA Champions League (UEFA).

The 2020 qualifiers are:

  • Hosts – Al-Duhail SC (Qatar)
  • AFC – Ulsan Hyundai FC (South Korea)
  • CAF – Al Ahly (Egypt)
  • CONCACAF – Tigres UANL (Mexico)
  • UEFA – Bayern Munich (Germany)

Auckland City were due to represent the OFC but withdrew due to the Covid-19 pandemic and quarantine measures required in their home country of New Zealand.

How do I get there?

Hamad International Airport is the only international airport in Qatar and serves many international destinations.

Thinking of going to Qatar? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

How do I get tickets to the FIFA Club World Cup?

To purchase tickets and for further ticket information, consult the ticketing section of the official FIFA ticketing website here.

Where to Stay in Qatar

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Qatar by clicking here.

Further Information

FIFA Club World Cup Official Website

Previous FIFA Club World Cup Tournaments

2019QatarLiverpool (England)1-0Flamengo (Brazil)
2018UAEReal Madrid (Spain)4 - 1Al Ain (UAE)
2017UAEReal Madrid (Spain)1 - 0Grêmio (Brazil)
2016JapanReal Madrid (Spain)4 - 2 (aet)Kashima Antlers (Japan)
2015JapanBarcelona (Spain)3-0River Plate (Argentina)
2014MoroccoReal Madrid (Spain)2 - 0San Lorenzo (Argentina)
2013MoroccoBayern Munich (Germany)2 - 0Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
2012JapanCorinthians (Brazil)1-0Chelsea (England)
2011JapanBarcelona (Spain)4 - 0Santos (Brazil)
2010UAEInternazionale (Italy)3 - 0TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2009UAEBarcelona (Spain)2 - 1 (aet)Estudiantes (Argentina)
2008JapanManchester United (England)1-0LDU Quito (Ecuador)
2007JapanMilan (Italy)4-2Boca Juniors (Argentina)
2006JapanInternacional (Brazil)1-0Barcelona (Spain)
2005JapanSão Paulo (Brazil)1-0Liverpool (England)
2001SpainTournament cancelled
2000BrazilCorinthians (Brazil)0-0 (aet)
4-3 (pens)
Vasco da Gama (Brazil)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.