The ATP Cup is a new men’s team tennis competition that was played for the first time in 2020. Replacing the Hopman Cup, some of the top players in Men’s tennis will compete within their national team.

Serbia were the inaugural champions after defeating Spain 2-1 in the Final, with Novak Djokovic crucially defeating Rafael Nadal 6-2 7-6.

When is the ATP Cup?

The ATP Cup is scheduled to be the first major event of the tennis season, taking place in January ahead of the Australian Open.

The 2021 event however will be held between the 2nd and 6th February 2021 due to the delay caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Where is the ATP Cup?

The ATP Cup will usually be held across three cities in Australia – Sydney, Brisbane and Perth, with the Finals due to be held at Sydney. The 2021 event however will be held solely at Melbourne Park in Melbourne due to logistical challenges around the Covid-19 pandemic.

Address: Melbourne Park, Batman Avenue, Melbourne, VIC 3004

What is the format of the ATP Cup?

Nations qualify for the ATP Cup based on the singles ranking of their best player, with 18 teams determined following the US Open and the remaining 6 following the ATP Finals. The host is always guaranteed a place, however teams must have at least 3 players with ATP rankings, 2 of which are singles players.

The 24 teams are divided into 6 groups of of 4, with ties played over 2 singles and 1 doubles match. The winners of each group along with the two best second place teams progress to the knockout phase, starting with a Quarter-final and progressing to Semi-finals and the Final to determine the winner.

How do I get tickets to the ATP Cup?

Tickets are available to purchase through the official ticket sale on Ticketmaster here.

Further Information

ATP Cup Official Website

ATP Tour Event Official Website

Last Updated on February 24, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply