The Gold Cup is a men’s football competition for international sides from CONCACAF, the football confederation of North America (including Central America and the Caribbean). First held in 1963, the current holders are Mexico who defeated the USA 1-0 in the 2019 Final.

Mexico are the most successful team in the Gold Cup, winning the tournament 8 times followed by the USA with 6 titles.

When is the Gold Cup?

The Gold Cup is held every 2 years, usually in July. The 2021 Gold Cup is taking place between the 10th July and 1st August 2021.

Where is the Gold Cup?

The USA has hosted or co-hosted every tournament since 1991. The host of the 2021 Gold Cup has yet to be announced.

Who is competing in the Gold Cup?

The 2019 tournament was the first to have 16 teams, up from 12.

12 teams qualified for the 2021 Gold Cup through the CONCACAF Nations League – Canada, Honduras, Grenada, Jamaica, USA, Mexico, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Martinique, Suriname and Panama.

The remaining 4 teams will qualify through the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualifiers which will take place in the United States the week before the tournament.

How do I get to the Gold Cup?

Thinking of going to the Gold Cup? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

How do I get tickets to the Gold Cup?

Consult the official website to check for updated ticket information.

Further Information

CONCACAF Gold Cup Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.