Giro d’Italia

Giro d'Italia

One of professional cycling’s three Grand Tours (along with the Tour de France and Vuelta a España), the Giro d’Italia (meaning Tour of Italy) is a 3 week long multiple-stage race held every year, primarily in Italy.

The 2021 pink jersey (maglia rosa), given to the General Clarification winner of the Giro d’Italia, was won by Colombia’s Egan Bernal of the Ineos Grenadiers who finished 1 minute 29 seconds ahead of Italy’s Damiano Caruso.

When is the Giro d’Italia?

The Giro d’Italia is held annually, usually over 3 weeks in May and sometimes continuing into June.

Where is the Giro d’Italia?

Giro d'Italia

The Giro is predominantly held in Italy but has been known to pass through neighbouring countries such as San Marino, France, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia and the Vatican City State.

The start of the Giro, known as the Grande Partenza takes place in a different town each year. It has become more common for the start of the Giro to be held outside of Italy to increase international international interest in the event. Other starts to the Giro outside of Italy, include the following:

  • 1965 – San Marino, San Marino
  • 1966 – Monte Carlo, Monaco
  • 1973 – Verviers, Belgium
  • 1974 – Rome, Vatican City
  • 1996 – Athens, Greece
  • 1998 – Nice, France
  • 2002 – Groningen, Netherlands
  • 2006 – Seraing, Belgium
  • 2010 – Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 2012 – Heming, Denmark
  • 2014 – Belfast, Northern Ireland
  • 2016 – Apeldoorn, Netherlands
  • 2018 – Jerusalem, Israel
  • 2022 – Budapest, Hungary

How do I get to the Giro d’Italia?

Italy has a number of international airports, including in Rome, Milan, Venice, Catania, Naples, Bologna and Pisa among others which between them serve many destinations across Europe and the World.

Thinking of flying to Italy? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

Hotels for the Giro d’Italia

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Italy by clicking here.


Further Information

Giro d’Italia Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.