Premiership Rugby (England)

Premiership Rugby is the top league of English domestic professional rugby union, consisting of 13 teams. After a 24 match season between September and May, the top 4 teams compete in a knockout tournament to decide the Champions with the Final played at Twickenham Stadium. The bottom side are automatically relegated to RFU Championship. The most successful side in the competition’s history is Leicester Tigers who have won 10 titles.

The 2020-2021 champions of Premiership Rugby were Harlequins, who won their second title after defeating Exeter Chiefs 40-38 in the Final. No team was relegated to the RFU Championship due to the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.

2021 – 2022 Premiership Rugby Season

The 2021-22 Premiership Rugby season is due to start on the weekend of the 18th September 2021, with the Premiership Rugby Final at Twickenham Stadium on the 18th June 2022. The newly promoted team was Saracens who returned at the first attempt.

The below 13 teams are competing in Premiership Rugby in the 2021-2022 season. Click on the link (where available) next to the team for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Bath Rugby – The Recreation Ground (Capacity – 14,500)

Bristol Bears – Ashton Gate (Capacity – 27,000)

Exeter Chiefs – Sandy Park (Capacity – 13,593)

Gloucester Rugby – Kingsholm Stadium (Capacity – 16,155)

Harlequins F.C. – Twickenham Stoop (Capacity – 14,800)

Leicester Tigers – Welford Road (Capacity – 25,849)

London Irish – Brentford Community Stadium (Capacity – 17,250)

Newcastle Falcons – Kingston Park (Capacity – 10,200)

Northampton Saints – Franklin’s Gardens (Capacity – 15,249)

Sale Sharks – AJ Bell Stadium (Capacity – 12,000)

Saracens – Barnet Copthall (Capacity – 8,500)

Wasps RFC – Ricoh Arena (Capacity – 32,753)

Worcester Warriors – Sixways Stadium (Capacity – 11,499)

How to buy tickets for Premiership Rugby

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in the Premiership Rugby competition is available on the venue guides above or on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

Premiership Rugby Official Website

Sports Tourist Blog at 2019 Premiership Rugby Final – June 2019

Last Updated on May 16, 2022 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply