EFL League One (England)

The English Football League One (EFL League One) is the third highest division of English football, consisting of 24 teams. The team to earn the highest points over the 46 match season is the Champion and earns promotion to the EFL Championship, along with the second place team and the Play-Off winner (play-off competed for by 3rd-6th place teams), with the lowest 4 clubs relegated to the English Football League Two division.

2023 – 2024 EFL League One Season

The 2023-24 EFL League One season is due to begin on the 5th August 2023, with the EFL League One Play-off Final taking place on the 18th May 2024 at Wembley Stadium.

The 2022 – 2023 champions were Plymouth Argyle, winning promotion back to the EFL Championship after an absence of 13 years. Ipswich Town were runners-up, whilst the play-off winners were Sheffield Wednesday who defeated Barnsley 1-0 in the Final after a 120th minute winner. The four relegated teams were Milton Keynes Dons, Morecambe, Accrington Stanley and Forest Green Rovers.

The three relegated teams from the EFL Championship are Reading, Blackpool and Wigan Athletic. The four promoted teams from EFL League Two are Leyton Orient, Stevenage, Northampton Town and Carlisle United.

The below 24 teams are competing in the EFL League One in the 2023-2024 season . Click on the link next to the team (where available) for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Barnsley – Oakwell (Capacity – 23,287)

Blackpool – Bloomfield Road (Capacity – 17,338)

Bolton Wanderers – University of Bolton Stadium (Capacity – 28,723)

Bristol Rovers – Memorial Stadium (Capacity – 9,832)

Burton Albion – Pirelli Stadium (Capacity – 6,912)

Cambridge United – Abbey Stadium (Capacity – 8,127)

Carlisle United – Brunton Park (Capacity – 17,949)

Charlton Athletic – The Valley (Capacity – 27,111)

Cheltenham Town – Whaddon Road (Capacity – 7,066)

Derby County – Pride Park Stadium (Capacity – 33,597)

Exeter City – St. James Park (Capacity – 8,696)

Fleetwood Town – Highbury Stadium (Capacity – 5,327)

Leyton Orient – Brisbane Road (Capacity – 9,271)

Lincoln City – Sincil Bank (Capacity – 10,780)

Northampton Town – Sixfields Stadium (Capacity – 7,798)

Oxford United – Kassam Stadium (Capacity – 12,500)

Peterborough United – London Road Stadium (Capacity – 15,314)

Portsmouth – Fratton Park (Capacity – 20,620)

Port Vale – Vale Park (Capacity – 15,036)

Reading – Madejski Stadium (Capacity – 24,161)

Shrewsbury Town – New Meadow (Capacity – 9,875)

Stevenage – Broadhall Way (Capacity – 7,800)

Wigan Athletic – DW Stadium (Capacity – 25,138)

Wycombe Wanderers – Adams Park (Capacity – 10,137)

How to buy tickets for the EFL League One

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in the EFL League One is available on the venue guides above or the individual ‘clubs’ tab on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

EFL League One Official Website

Last Updated on July 24, 2023 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply