United Rugby Championship

The United Rugby Championship (formerly known as the Pro14) is an annual rugby union competition, consisting of 16 teams from Ireland, Italy, Scotland, South Africa and Wales. The 2020/2021 champions of the last season known as the Pro14 were Leinster after defeating Munster 16-6 in the Final at the RDS Arena. Leinster are also the most successful club in the competition’s history, having won 8 titles.

Format of the United Rugby Championship

The 16 teams are split into 4 regional pools of 4 teams (South African, Welsh, Irish and Scottish/Italian), with each team playing each other in the pool twice, home and away and each team from the other pools once (either home or away) in the season from September to May.

Each team plays 18 matches – 9 home and 9 away matches. The top 8 teams from the overall league advance to the Play-off quarter-finals, followed by semi-finals and a Grand Final.

Clubs of the United Rugby Championship

There are 16 teams competing in the United Rugby Championship. Click on the link (where available) next to the team for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Benetton – Stadio Comunale di Monigo (Treviso, Italy)
Bulls – Loftus Versfeld Stadium (Pretoria, South Africa)
Cardiff Blues – Cardiff Arms Park (Cardiff, Wales)
Connacht – Galway Sportsgrounds (Galway, Ireland)
Dragons – Rodney Parade (Newport, Wales)
Edinburgh – Edinburgh Rugby Stadium (Edinburgh, Scotland)
Glasgow Warriors – Scotstoun Stadium (Glasgow, Scotland)
Leinster – RDS Arena/Aviva Stadium (Dublin, Ireland)
Lions – Ellis Park Stadium (Johannesburg, South Africa)
Munster – Thomond Park/Irish Independent Park (Limerick/Cork, Ireland)
Ospreys – Liberty Stadium (Swansea, Wales)
Scarlets – Parc y Scarlets (Llanelli, Wales)
Sharks – Kings Park Stadium (Durban, South Africa)
Stormers – Cape Town Stadium (Cape Town, South Africa)
Ulster – Ravenhill Stadium (Belfast, Northern Ireland)
Zebre – Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi (Parma, Italy)

How to buy tickets for the United Rugby Championship

Ticketing information for all clubs competing in the United Rugby Championship is available on the individual ‘clubs’ tab on the official website by clicking here.

Further Information

United Rugby Championship Official Website

Last Updated on September 22, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply