The Ashes

The Ashes is a Test series contested between Australia and England. The origins of The Ashes date back to 1882, when after Australia had defeated England at The Oval, a British newspaper published a obituary to English cricket stating that “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”.

The Ashes are held by the winner of the Test series, whilst they are retained by the current holder in the event of a draw. As of 2020, there had been 71 Ashes series, with Australia winning 33, England 32 and 6 drawn series.

Australia are the current holders, having retained The Ashes after drawing the 2019 series 2-2. This was the first drawn series since 1972.

When and where are The Ashes?

The Ashes series are hosted in turn by England and Australia at least once every two years, traditionally over a five match Test series.

2021-2022 Ashes Series

The next Ashes series is due to take place in Australia in late 2021/early 2022. It is tradition for the Boxing Day test to be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground and the New Year’s Day test to be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

1st Test: 8th-12th December 2021 – Australia v England (The Gabba, Brisbane)

2nd Test: 16th-20th December 2021 – Australia v England (Adelaide Oval, Adelaide)

3rd Test: 26th-30th December 2021 – Australia v England (Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne)

4th Test: 5th-9th January 2022 – Australia v England (Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney)

5th Test: 14th-18th January 2022 – Australia v England (Bellerive Oval, Hobart)

How do I get there?

There are major international airports at Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Cairns, Canberra, Hobart and Darwin. Between them, they serve the majority of the world’s destinations.

Thinking of flying to Australia? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

Where to stay in Australia

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Australia by clicking here.


Tickets for The Ashes

All the latest ticket information will be available on the official website of the respective hosting team. With Australia due to host the next series, the latest ticketing information will be available on their official website here.

Further Information

Australia Cricket Official Website

England Cricket Official Website

Last Updated on December 30, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply