UEFA European Women’s Championship

The UEFA European Women’s Championship is an international women’s football competition, contested by members of the European football governing body, UEFA and first held in 1982.

There have been 12 UEFA Women’s Euros, won by 4 different national teams – Germany are by far the most successful having won eight titles, Norway have won twice with Sweden and the Netherlands each winning once.

The current holders are the Netherlands, who won the first title on home soil after defeating Denmark in the Final of the 2017 competition.

When is the UEFA European Women’s Championship?

The Euros have been held every 4 years since 1997, after initially being played every two years. The tournament is usually in July but has been held at different points across the summer months.

The next edition will be in 2022 from the 6th to the 31st July, postponed by a year due to the knock on effect of the Covid-19 pandemic and potential clashes with other major tournaments such as the Summer Olympics and UEFA Euro 2020.

Where is the UEFA European Women’s Championship?

The Euros are hosted by a different UEFA nation, with the host nation being selected through a bidding process. Previous hosts of the tournament are:

  • 1984 – Various (Denmark, England, Italy, Sweden)
  • 1987 – Norway
  • 1989 – West Germany
  • 1991 – Denmark
  • 1993 – Italy
  • 1995 – Various (England, Germany, Norway, Sweden)
  • 1997 – Norway & Sweden
  • 2001 – Germany
  • 2005 – England
  • 2009 – Finland
  • 2013 – Sweden
  • 2017 – Netherlands

The next tournament, UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 will be held in England who will be hosting the tournament for the second time. The 10 venues that will be used are:

Who is competing in the UEFA European Women’s Championship?

16 teams compete in the UEFA Euros, with the host team qualifying automatically. The tournament was initially played as a four team, expanding to eight teams in 1997, then to 12 in 2009 and 16 in 2017.

For the 2022 tournament, 47 European teams (excluding England) entered the qualification process with a group stage that would see nine group winners and the three best runners-up qualify for the Finals, while the remaining six runners-up advanced to the play-offs to determine the last three places. The qualifiers are:

England (hosts), Germany, Netherlands, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, France, Belgium, Iceland, Spain, Finland, Austria, Italy, Russia, Northern Ireland and Switzerland.

How do I get tickets to the UEFA European Women’s Championship?

Ticket information for the UEFA Euros will be available on the official UEFA website. Tickets for the 2022 tournament are due to go on sale following the Final’s draw.

Further Information

UEFA European Women’s Championship Official Website

Last Updated on May 18, 2022 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply