Copa América

Copa América is a men’s football competition for international sides from CONMEBOL, the football confederation of South America. First held in 1916, Copa América is the oldest football competition for international teams in the world.

The most successful team are Uruguay who have won 15 titles, followed by Argentina with 14. The current holders are Brazil who defeated Peru in the 2019 Final.

When is Copa América?

Following the 2019 tournament, Copa América will take place every 4 years starting in 2020 to move the tournament in line with the UEFA European Championship.

The 2020 Copa América was due to take place from the 12th June to 12th July 2020 but was postponed by a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic in South America. Therefore the next tournament will take place in 2021, from the 11th June to 11th July 2021.

Where is Copa América?

Since 1984, Copa América has been rotated among the 10 member confederations in alphabetical order starting with Argentina, although each association is under no obligation to do so. The tournament has been hosted by a non-CONMEBOL member only once, the centennial edition in 2016 was held in the USA.

The 2021 Copa América is being hosted by Argentina and Colombia, the first time the tournament has been held in two countries. Five venues in Argentina and four venues in Colombia will be used:


  • Buenos Aires – Estadio Monumental (Capacity – 70,074)
  • Córdoba – Estadio Mario Alberto Kempes (Capacity – 57,000)
  • La Plata – Estadio Ciudad de La Plata (Capacity – 53,000)
  • Mendoza – Estadio Malvinas Argentinas (Capacity – 49,268)
  • Santiago del Estero – Estadio Único (Capacity – 33,000)


  • Barranquilla – Estadio Metropolitano Roberto Meléndez (Capacity – 60,000)
  • Medellín – Atanasio Girardot Sports Complex (Capacity – 46,000)
  • Bogotá – Estadio El Campín (Capacity – 40,000)
  • Cali – Estadio Olímpico Pascual Guerrero (Capacity – 36,000)

Colombia will host the North Zone group, with Argentina to host the South Zone group. Each country will also host two quarter-finals and one semi-final, with the final to be played at the Estadio Metropolitano Roberto Meléndez in Colombia.

The 2024 Copa América is due to be held in Ecuador, although this hasn’t been confirmed.

Who is competing in Copa América?

All 10 teams that make up CONMEBOL compete in the Copa América – Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. Since 1993, teams from North America and Asia have been invited to participate to increase the number of teams to 12 (or 16 in in the 2016 event).

Australia and Qatar have been invited to participate in the 2021 edition of Copa América, with Australia making their first appearance in the tournament whilst Qatar are playing their second after 2019.

The draw for the 2021 Copa América was made on the 3rd December 2019:

Group A (South Zone) – Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay

Group B (North Zone) – Colombia, Brazil, Qatar, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru

How do I get to Copa América?

Argentina has major international airports in Buenos Aires and Córdoba, with Colombia having Barranquilla and Bogota.

Thinking of going to Argentina or Colombia? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

How do I get tickets to Copa América?

Ticket information for the 2021 Copa América has yet to be released, however check the official website for further information by clicking here.

To give an idea on ticket prices, tickets at the 2019 Copa América ranged from:

  • Opening Match: R$190 – R$590
  • Group Stage: R$60 – R$350
  • Quarter-finals: R$80 – R$400
  • Semi-finals: R$100 – R$590
  • 3rd Place Play-Off: R$60 – R$350
  • Final: R$260 – R$890

Where to Stay in Argentina & Colombia

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Argentina and Colombia by clicking on each link.

Further Information

Copa América Official Website

CONMEBOL Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.