FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is an international competition for senior men’s football, contested by the national teams of the members of the world governing body, FIFA and first held in 1930. France are the current champions, having beat Croatia 4-2 at the 2018 edition which was hosted in Russia.

When is it?

The FIFA World Cup takes place every 4 years. The 22nd edition is the first to not be held in May, June or July, with the tournament scheduled from Monday 21st November – Sunday 18th December 2022.

Where is it?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is being hosted in Qatar for the first time, at the following venues:

  • Al Khor – Al Bayt Stadium (Capacity – 60,000)
  • Al Rayyan – Al Rayyan Stadium (Capacity – 44,740)
  • Al Wakrah – Al Wakrah Stadium (Capacity – 40,000)
  • Doha – Al Thumama Stadium (Capacity – 40,000)
  • Doha – Education City Stadium (Capacity – 45,350)
  • Doha – Khalifa International Stadium (Capacity – 40,000)
  • Doha – Ras Abu Aboud Stadium (Capacity – 40,000)
  • Lusail – Lusail Iconic Stadium (Capacity – 86,250)

Who is competing?

32 nations compete for the World Cup, with the hosts automatically qualifying and the other nations competing in qualification competitions in the years preceding.

How do I get there?

Hamad International Airport in Doha serves many destinations across the world. With Qatar being a relatively small country and 4 of the venues in Doha, travel should be relatively easy. Further travel information of getting to matches will be available closer to the time.

Thinking of going to Qatar? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

How do I get tickets?

Ticket information has not yet been released for the 2022 World Cup. Based on the 2018 World Cup, it is likely tickets will be on sale approximately 9 months before the competition in three phases.

Where and when is the next World Cup?

The 23rd FIFA World Cup is to jointly be hosted by Canada, Mexico and the USA in 2026, having beat a rival bid by Morocco.

More Information

Official Website:

Previous Tournaments

2018RussiaFrance4 - 2Croatia
2014BrazilGermany1 - 0 (aet)Argentina
2010South AfricaSpain1 - 0 (aet)Netherlands
2006GermanyItaly1 - 1 (aet)
(5 - 3 pens)
2002South Korea &
Brazil2 - 0Germany
1998FranceFrance3 - 0Brazil
1994USABrazil0 - 0 (aet)
(3 - 2 pens)
1990ItalyWest Germany1 - 0Argentina
1986MexicoArgentina3 - 2West Germany
1982SpainItaly3 - 1West Germany
1978ArgentinaArgentina3 - 1 (aet)Netherlands
1974West GermanyWest Germany2 - 1Netherlands
1970MexicoBrazil4 - 1Italy
1966EnglandEngland4 - 2 (aet)West Germany
1962ChileBrazil3 - 1Czechoslovakia
1958SwedenBrazil5 - 2Sweden
1954SwitzerlandWest Germany3 - 2Hungary
1950BrazilUruguay2 - 1Brazil
1938FranceItaly4 - 2Hungary
1934ItalyItaly2 - 1 (aet)Czechoslovakia
1930UruguayUruguay4 - 2Argentina

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.