Scottish Premiership (Scotland)

The Scottish Premiership is the top league of Scottish football, consisting of 12 teams. The team to earn the highest points over the 38 match season is the champion, whilst the bottom side are relegated and the second bottom play in a play-off against a team from the Scottish Championship.

The league is is unique in the fact that it is split into two phases – phase 1 in which all teams play 33 matches – 3 games against every other team before the league is split into a top 6 and bottom 6. The second phase involves teams playing a further 5 matches against the 5 other clubs from its section, with clubs being unable to move out of their section despite if they finish on a higher number of points.

The 2018 – 2019 champions were Celtic, with the 1 promoted side being Ross County.

2019 – 2020 Season

The below 12 teams are competing in the Scottish Premiership in the 2019-202o season. Click on the link next to the team (where available) for a guide to visiting the stadium and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Aberdeen – Pittodrie Stadium (Capacity – 20,866)

Celtic – Celtic Park (Capacity – 60,411)

Hamilton Academical – New Douglas Park (Capacity – 6,018)

Heart of Midlothian – Tynecastle Park (Capacity – 20,099)

Hibernian – Easter Road (Capacity – 20,421)

Kilmarnock – Rugby Park (Capacity – 17,889)

Livingston – Almondvale Stadium (Capacity – 9,512)

Motherwell – Fir Park (Capacity – 13,677)

Rangers – Ibrox Stadium (Capacity – 50,817)

Ross County – Victoria Park (Capacity – 6,541)

St Johnstone – McDiarmid Park (Capacity – 10,696)

St Mirren – St Mirren Park (Capacity – 7,937)

How to buy tickets for the Scottish Premiership

Ticketing information for clubs competing in the Scottish Premiership is available by clicking on the links above (where available).

Further Information

Official Scottish Premiership Website:

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.