UEFA Super Cup

The UEFA Super Cup is an annual match contested between the reigning champions of Europe’s main football competitions – the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

The first match was played in 1972, with a match played over two legs between Ajax, the European Cup holders and Rangers, the European Cup Winners’ Cup holders. Ajax won 6-3 but the match is considered as unofficial by UEFA as Rangers were banned from European competition due to the behaviour of their fans during the 1972 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup Final. The first official match was therefore in 1973 in which Ajax defeated A.C. Milan 6-1 on aggregate.

The most successful clubs in the UEFA Super Cup are Barcelona and A.C. Milan who have each won the competition five times. Chelsea are the current holders, winning their second title after defeating Villarreal 6-5 on penalties after playing out a 1-1 draw at Windsor Park in Belfast in Northern Ireland.

When is the UEFA Super Cup?

The UEFA Super Cup is normally seen as a ‘curtain-raiser’ to a new season. From 2014, the date was moved from Friday in late August, to Tuesday in mid-August.

Where is the UEFA Super Cup?

The UEFA Super Cup was originally played over two legs at each of the participant’s home venues. However the format was changed in 1998 to be played as a single venue at a neutral venue, which from 1998 to 2012 was the Stade Louis II in Monaco.

Since 2013, the match has been played at a different stadium each year:

How do I get tickets to the UEFA Super Cup?

Ticket information for the UEFA Super Cup Final will be available on the official UEFA website, you can subscribe to updates on the official website here.

Further Information

UEFA Super Cup Official Website

Last Updated on April 13, 2022 by Sports Tourist

Leave a Reply