FIFA Women’s World Cup

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international competition for senior women’s football, contested by the national teams of the members of the world governing body, FIFA and first held in 1991. The USA are the current champions, having defeated Japan 5-2 in Canada in 2015.

When is it?

The FIFA Women’s World Cup takes place every 4 years, with the 8th edition is set to take place between the 7th June and 7th July 2019.

Where is it?

The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup is being hosted in France for the first time, at the following venues:

  • Grenoble – Stade des Alpes (Capacity – 20,068)
  • Le Havre – Stade Océane (Capacity – 25,178)
  • Lyon – Parc Olympique Lyonnais (Capacity – 59,186)
  • Montpellier – Stade de la Mosson (Capacity – 32,900)
  • Nice – Allianz Riviera (Capacity – 35,624)
  • Paris – Parc des Princes (Capacity – 48,583)
  • Reims – Stade Auguste-Delaune (Capacity – 21,127)
  • Rennes – Roazhon Park (Capacity – 29,164)
  • Valenciennes – Stade du Hainaut (Capacity – 25,172)

The final will be held at the Parc Olympique Lyonnais on the 7th July 2019.

Who is competing?

24 nations will be competing in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, with France having qualified as hosts. 18 teams have already qualified: Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Canada, Jamaica, USA, Brazil, Chile, England, Germany, Italy, Norway, Scotland, Spain and Sweden.

How do I get there?

France has a number of international airports, including at Grenoble, Le Havre, Lyon, Montpellier, Nice, Paris, Rennes and Valenciennes.

Thinking of going to France? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

How do I get tickets?

Tickets for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup are now on general sale.

Tickets can be purchased through the official FIFA website here.

Where and when is the next World Cup?

The hosts for the 9th Women’s World Cup will be decided in early 2019, with official candidates being Australia, Japan and Thailand.

More Information

Official Website:

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.