Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2021 Copa América

The 2021 Copa América is a men’s football competition for international sides from CONMEBOL, the football confederation of South America. First held in 1916, Copa América is the oldest football competition for international teams in the world.

The most successful team are Uruguay who have won 15 titles, followed by Argentina with 14. The current holders are Brazil who defeated Peru in the 2019 Final.

When is the 2021 Copa América?

Following the 2019 tournament, Copa América will take place every 4 years starting in 2020 to move the tournament in line with the UEFA European Championship.

The 2020 Copa América was due to take place from the 12th June to 12th July 2020 but was postponed by a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic in South America. Therefore the next tournament will take place in 2021, from the 13th June to 10th July 2021.

Where is the 2021 Copa América?

Since 1984, Copa América has been rotated among the 10 member confederations in alphabetical order starting with Argentina, although each association is under no obligation to do so. The tournament has been hosted by a non-CONMEBOL member only once, the centennial edition in 2016 was held in the USA.

The 2021 Copa América was due to be hosted by Argentina and Colombia, the first time the tournament would of been held in two countries. However, the two nations were withdrawn from holding the tournament just two weeks before it starts due to civil unrest and Covid-19 complications, with Brazil stepping in at the last minute.

Five venues will be used, with the Final played at the legendary Maracanã:

Who is competing in the 2021 Copa América?

All 10 teams that make up CONMEBOL compete in the Copa América – Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. Since 1993, teams from North America and Asia have been invited to participate to increase the number of teams to 12 (or 16 in in the 2016 event).

Australia and Qatar were invited to participate in the 2021 edition of Copa América but withdrew due to the postponement of their own World Cup qualifiers.

The draw for the 2021 Copa América was made on the 3rd December 2019:

Group A – Argentina, Bolivia, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay

Group B – Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru

How do I get tickets to the 2021 Copa América?

Check the official website for further information by clicking here.

To give an idea on ticket prices, tickets at the 2019 Copa América ranged from:

  • Opening Match: R$190 – R$590
  • Group Stage: R$60 – R$350
  • Quarter-finals: R$80 – R$400
  • Semi-finals: R$100 – R$590
  • 3rd Place Play-Off: R$60 – R$350
  • Final: R$260 – R$890

Further Information

Copa América Official Website

CONMEBOL Official Website

Leave a Reply