England Cricket’s Summer 2021 Schedule

Lord's Cricket Ground

After tours of Sri Lanka and India in the winter and building up to the T20 World Cup and Ashes series, England host a huge summer of cricket featuring 7 test matches, 6 One Day International’s and 6 Twenty20 International’s against four different nations.

They will start the summer with a 2 Test match series against the in-form New Zealand, followed by back-to-back T20I and ODI series with Sri Lanka and Pakistan before finishing off with a 5 match Test series with India.

Click on each of the fixtures below for further information on travel, ticketing and venue information.

England v New Zealand

England will start their summer by playing a two test match series against New Zealand, the first at Lord’s before meeting at Edgbaston a week later. Its been six years since the Black Caps last played a Test Series in England, drawing 1-1 on that occasion.

The most recent Test series however between the two however was in November 2019, with New Zealand winning the two test match series 1-0 at home.

Test Series

2nd-6th June 2021 – 1st Test v New Zealand (Lord’s, London)

10th-14th June 2021 – 2nd Test v New Zealand (Edgbaston, Birmingham)

England v Sri Lanka

England’s preparation for the T20 World Cup later in the year will start to ramp up as they play three Twenty20 International’s against Sri Lanka, with back-to-back matches at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff before a deciding match two later at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton. The sides last played a T20 in England in July 2016, with England winning the single match by 8 wickets at the Ageas Bowl. The most recent T20I match between the sides however was in October 2018, England also winning on that occasion by 30 runs at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Straight off the back of the T20I series, the World Champions will play Sri Lanka in a three match One Day International series. The sides last met in an ODI in June 2019 in the Cricket World Cup, Sri Lanka winning by 20 runs at Headingley as the hosts eventually regrouped and went on to win the tournament.

T20I Series

23rd June 2021 (TBC) – 1st T20I v Sri Lanka (Sophia Gardens, Cardiff)

24th June 2021 (TBC) – 2nd T20I v Sri Lanka (Sophia Gardens, Cardiff)

26th June 2021 (TBC) – 3rd T20I v Sri Lanka (Ageas Bowl, Southampton)

ODI series

29th June 2021 (TBC) – 1st ODI v Sri Lanka (Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street)

1st July 2021 (TBC) – 2nd ODI v Sri Lanka (The Oval, London)

4th July 2021 (TBC) – 3rd ODI v Sri Lanka (Bristol County Ground, Bristol)

England v Pakistan

Pakistan have been regular visitors to England in the last couple of years, playing series in both 2019 and 2020. The sides will play three ODI’s and three T20I’s this time round. The sides last met in an ODI in June 2019 in the Cricket World Cup, Pakistan winning by 14 runs at Trent Bridge.

The Twenty20 series in 2020 was a 1-1 draw between the sides, with all 3 matches played at Old Trafford behind closed doors due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The two sides will meet in the format later in the year, with England touring Pakistan to play a two match series in October 2021 just before the T20 World Cup – the first time England will play in Pakistan since 2005.

ODI series

8th July 2021 (TBC) – 1st ODI v Pakistan (Sophia Gardens, Cardiff)

10th July 2021 (TBC) – 2nd ODI v Pakistan (Lord’s, London)

13th July 2021 (TBC) – 3rd ODI v Pakistan (Edgbaston, Birmingham)

T20I Series

16th July 2021 (TBC) – 1st T20I v Pakistan (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)

18th July 2021 (TBC) – 2nd T20I v Pakistan (Headingley, Leeds)

20th July 2021 (TBC) – 3rd T20I v Pakistan (Old Trafford, Manchester)

England v India

England will round off their summer with a five match test series against India. The Indians last toured England for a test series in 2018, losing 4-1 on that occasion. It will however just be six months between series for the two sides, with England touring India across February and March 2021 – the perfect chance potentially for one of the sides to seek revenge.

Test Series

4th-8th August 2021 – 1st Test v India (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)

12th-16th August 2021 – 2nd Test v India (Lord’s, London)

25th-29th August 2021 – 3rd Test v India (Headingley, Leeds)

2nd-6th September 2021 – 4th Test v India (The Oval, London)

10th-14th September 2021 – 5th Test v India (Old Trafford, Manchester)

Last Updated on January 25, 2021 by Sports Tourist

Related Post

Leave a Reply