County Championship (England)

Kevin Pietersen playing for Surrey in the County Championship

The County Championship (currently known as the LV=Insurance County Championship for sponsorship reasons) is the domestic first-class cricket competition held in England and Wales. The competition was first held in 1890 featuring eight county clubs, although an unofficial competition had been played for a number of years before this.

The 18 first-class counties of England and Wales are split into two divisions, featuring eight teams in the First Division and 10 teams in the Second Division with promotion and relegation between the two. The tournament is usually played between April and September, with the winner being the club with the most points in the First Division. 16 points are awarded for a win, 8 points for a tie, 5 for a draw and 0 for a loss – bonus points are also awarded for batting and bowling performance.

The current champions are Essex who won the competition for the eight time in 2019, although Yorkshire are the most successful club with 32 titles. There was no competition in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, although a shortened version called the ‘Bob Willis Trophy’ was held and was won by Essex.

Teams & Venues of the County Championship

Below is a list of the 18 county clubs main home venues, although they do occasionally play at alternative grounds. Click on the link next to the team (where available) for a guide to visiting the venue and city, or view the map on the bottom of this page to see where each team is located.

Derbyshire – County Cricket Ground (Derby)

Durham – Riverside Ground (Chester-le-Street)

Essex – County Cricket Ground (Chelmsford)

Glamorgan – Sophia Gardens (Cardiff)

Gloucestershire – Bristol County Ground (Bristol)

Hampshire – Rose Bowl (Southampton)

Kent – St Lawrence Ground (Canterbury)

Lancashire – Old Trafford (Manchester)

Leicestershire – Grace Road (Leicester)

Middlesex – Lord’s (London)

Northamptonshire – County Cricket Ground (Northampton)

Nottinghamshire – Trent Bridge (Nottingham)

Somerset – County Ground (Taunton)

Surrey – The Oval (London)

Sussex – County Cricket Ground (Hove)

Warwickshire – Edgbaston (Birmingham)

Worcestershire – New Road (Worcester)

Yorkshire – Headingley (Leeds)

How to buy tickets to the County Championship

County Championship matches are known for their low crowd numbers so there will no issues in buying tickets. Tickets are usually cheaper to purchase in advance but it is possible to pay on arrival. You can find ticket information by clicking on the team information above (where available).

Further Information

County Championship Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.