Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2021 Giro d’Italia

May 8 - May 30

Turin

One of professional cycling’s three Grand Tours (along with the Tour de France and Vuelta a España), the 2021 Giro d’Italia (meaning Tour of Italy) is a 3 week long multiple-stage race held every year, primarily in Italy.

The 2020 pink jersey (maglia rosa), given to the General Clarification winner of the Giro d’Italia, was won by Great Britain’s Tao Geoghegan Hart of the Ineos Grenadiers. Geoghegan Hart finished 39 seconds ahead of Australia’s Jai Hindley.


Where is the 2021 Giro d’Italia?

The Giro is predominantly held in Italy but has been known to pass through neighbouring countries such as San Marino, France, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia and the Vatican City State.

The start of the Giro, known as the Grande Partenza takes place in a different town each year. It has become more common for the start of the Giro to be held outside of Italy to increase international international interest in the event.

The 2021 Grande Partenza will take place in the Piedmont region in the North of the country, opening with a 9km flat individual time trial in Turin. The region last hosted the opening of the race 10 years ago.

The 2021 Giro route will be:

Stage 1 (Saturday 8th May 2021) – Turin to Turin  (9km Individual Time Trial)

Stage 2 (Sunday 9th May 2021) –Stupinigi to Novara (173km flat)

Stage 3 (Monday 10th May 2021) –Biella to Canale (187km hilly)

Stage 4 (Tuesday 11th May 2021) – Piaceneza to Sestola (186km intermediate)

Stage 5 (Wednesday 12th May 2021) – Modena to Cattolica (171km flat)

Stage 6 (Thursday 13th May 2021) – Grotte di Frasassi to Ascoli Piceno (150km intermediate)

Stage 7 (Friday 14th May 2021) – Notaresco to Termoli (178km flat)

Stage 8 (Saturday 15th May 2021) – Foggia to Guardia Sanframondi (173km intermediate)

Stage 9 (Sunday 16th May 2021) – Castel di Sangro to Campo Felice (160km mountain)

Stage 10 (Monday 17th May 2021) – L’Aquila to Foligno (140km flat)

Rest Day (Tuesday 18th May 2021)

Stage 11 (Wednesday 19th May 2021) – Perugia to Montalcino (163 km hilly)

Stage 12 (Thursday 20th May 2021) – Siena to Bagno di Romagna (209km intermediate)

Stage 13 (Friday 21st May 2021) – Ravenna to Verona (197km flat)

Stage 14 (Saturday 22nd May 2021) – Cittadella to Monte Zoncolan (205km mountain)

Stage 15 (Sunday 23rd May 2021) – Grado to Gorizia (145km hilly)

Stage 16 (Monday 24th May 2021) – Sacile to Cortina d’Ampezzo (212km mountain)

Rest Day (Tuesday 25th May 2021)

Stage 17 (Wednesday 26th May 2021) – Canazei to Sega di Ala (193km mountain)

Stage 18 (Thursday 27th May 2021) – Rovereto to Stradella (228km flat)

Stage 19 (Friday 28th May 2021) – Abbiategrasso to Alpe di Mera Valsesia (178km mountain)

Stage 20 (Saturday 29th May 2021) – Verbania to Valle Spluga (164km mountain)

Stage 21 (Sunday 30th May 2021) – Senago to Milano (29.4km individual time trial)

Further information on the route can be accessed on the official website here.


How do I get to the 2021 Giro d’Italia?

Italy has a number of international airports, including in Rome, Milan, Venice, Catania, Naples, Bologna and Pisa among others which between them serve many destinations across Europe and the World.

Thinking of flying to Italy? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

skyscanner generic 728x90


Where to stay in Italy

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Italy by clicking here.


Further Information

Giro d’Italia Official Website

Details

Start:
May 8
End:
May 30
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

Venue

Italy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.