Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2022 FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is an international competition for senior men’s football, contested by the national teams of the members of the world governing body, FIFA and first held in 1930. France are the current champions, defeating Croatia 4-2 at the 2018 edition in Russia.

The FIFA World Cup takes place every 4 years, usually in the summer months. The 22nd edition is the first to not be held in May, June or July, with the tournament scheduled from Monday 21st November – Sunday 18th December 2022.

Where is the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is to be hosted in Qatar for the first time at the following venues:

Who is competing in the FIFA World Cup?

32 nations compete for the World Cup, with the hosts automatically qualifying and the other nations competing in qualification competitions among their respective confederations in the years preceding.

For the 2022 tournament, the following number of nations will qualify from each confederation:

  • UEFA (Europe) – 13
  • CAF (Africa) – 5
  • AFC (Asia) – 4 plus Qatar as hosts
  • CONMEBOL (South America) – 4
  • CONCACAF (North and Central America) – 3
  • OFC (Oceania) v AFC/CONMEBOL/CONCACAF intercontinental play-off winner – 2

How do I get to the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

Hamad International Airport in Doha serves many destinations across the world. With Qatar being a relatively small country and 4 of the venues in Doha, travel should be relatively easy. Further travel information of getting to matches will be available closer to the time.

Thinking of flying to Qatar? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

Where to Stay in Qatar during the 2022 FIFA World Cup

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Qatar by clicking here.

How do I get tickets to the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

Tickets for the 2022 World Cup will be on the official website. Based on the 2018 tournament, it is likely tickets will be on sale approximately 9 months before the tournament in three phases.

More Information

FIFA World Cup Official Website: www.fifa.com/worldcup

Leave a Reply