Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2021 Vuelta a España

The last of professional cycling’s three Grand Tours (after the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France), the 2021 Vuelta a España (Tour of Spain) is a 3 week long multiple-stage race held every year, primarily in Spain.

The 2020 red jersey (maillot rojo), given to the General Clarification winner of the Vuelta a España, was won by the Slovenian, Primož Roglič of Team Jumbo–Visma who won the event for the second year in a row.

Where is the 2021 Vuelta a España?

The Vuelta a España is predominantly held in Spain but does visit neighboring countries.

Only three editions of the Vuelta have started outside of Spain:

  • 1997: Lisbon, Portugal
  • 2009: Assen, Netherlands
  • 2017: Nîmes, France

The final stage of the Vuelta traditionally finishes in Madrid.

The 2021 Vuelta will start in the Northern city of Burgos with a 8 kilometre individual time trial, finishing with a 33.7 kilometre individual time trial in Santiago de Compostela – the first finish outside of Madrid since 2014.

The 2021 Vuelta route will be:

Stage 1 (Saturday 14th August 2021) – Burgos to Burgos (8km individual time trial)

Stage 2 (Sunday 15th August 2021) – Caleuega to Burgos (169.5km flat stage)

Stage 3 (Monday 16th August 2021) – Santo Domingo de Silos to Picón Blanco (203km flat stage)

Stage 4 (Tuesday 17th August 2021) – El Burgo de Osma to Molina de Aragón (163.6km flat stage)

Stage 5 (Wednesday 18th August 2021) – Tarancón to Albacete (184.4km flat stage)

Stage 6 (Thursday 19th August 2021) – Requena to Alto de Cullera (159km flat stage)

Stage 7 (Friday 20th August 2021) – Gandia to Balcón de Alicante (152km mountain stage)

Stage 8 (Saturday 21st August 2021) – Santa Pola to La Manga del Mar Menor (163.3km flat stage)

Stage 9 (Sunday 22nd August 2021) – Puerto Lumbreras to Alto de Velefique (187.8km mountain stage)

Rest Day (Monday 23rd August 2021)

Stage 10 (Tuesday 24th August 2021) – Roquetas de Mar to Rincón de la Victoria (190.2km hilly stage)

Stage 11 (Wednesday 25th August 2021) – Antequera to Valdepeñas de Jaén (131.6km hilly stage)

Stage 12 (Thursday 26thAugust 2021) –Jaén to Córdoba (166.7km hilly stage)

Stage 13 (Friday 27th August 2021) – Belmez to Villanueva de la Serena (197.2km flat stage)

Stage 14 (Saturday 28th August 2021) – Don Benito to Pico Villuercas (159.7km mountain stage)

Stage 15 (Sunday 29th August 2021) – Navalmoral de la Mata to El Barraco (193.4km mountain stage)

Rest Day (Monday 30th August 2021)

Stage 16 (Tuesday 31st August 2021) – Laredo to Santa Cruz de Bezana (170.8km flat stage)

Stage 17 (Wednesday 1st September 2021) – Unquerra to Lagos de Covadonga (181.6km mountain stage)

Stage 18 (Thursday 2nd September 2021) – Salas to Alto de Gamoniteiru (159.2km mountain stage)

Stage 19 (Friday 3rd September 2021) – Tapia to Monforte de Lemos (187.8km hilly stage)

Stage 20 (Saturday 4th September 2021) – Sanxenxo to Mos (173.6km mountain stage)

Stage 21 (Sunday 5th September 2021) – Padrón to Santiago de Compostela (33.7km individiual time trial)

Further information on the route can be accessed on the official website here.

How do I get to the 2021 Vuelta a España?

There are major airports in Madrid, Barcelona, Málaga, Alicante and Valencia among others.

Thinking of going to Spain? Search & book your flights through Skyscanner here.

Where to stay in Spain

Use TripAdvisor to find some great places to stay in Spain by clicking here.


Further Information

Vuelta a España Official Website

Leave a Reply